Best private photo vault apps for iPhone (2026)

Updated · By THEORIST LLC, the company that makes Hushtrove

Judged on privacy first (the App Store privacy label, whether you need an account, what encryption the developer describes and where backups go), the options split clearly. Hushtrove, our app, is the only one here with a label of Data Not Collected; Vaultaire also needs no account and backs up encrypted to your iCloud; Keepsafe and Private Photo Vault are the most established and work on Android too; Apple's Hidden album is free and built in but opens with your iPhone passcode S1 S2 S3 S4. The table below applies the same eight criteria to all seven.

Hushtrove is our app, so we have a stake in this list. To keep it fair, every app, ours included, is judged on the same criteria, every claim about another app links to that app's own App Store page or website (read on 2026-10-28), and "not stated" means we didn't find it there, not that the feature is missing. We didn't test the other apps.

The criteria

  1. App Privacy label. What the developer declares to Apple about data collection. "Data Not Collected" is the strongest; Apple notes labels aren't verified.
  2. Account required. An account means an email address and a server that knows you use a vault.
  3. Encryption described. Whether the developer names how files are protected, in its own words.
  4. Backup. Where it goes and who could read it.
  5. Originals and export. Whether photos are recompressed, and whether you can get them out.
  6. Ads. In the free version.
  7. Price model. Subscription, one-time purchase or both (US App Store).
  8. Free limits. What you get without paying.

Which apps. The four vault apps with the most US App Store ratings on the day (Private Photo Vault 1,018,339; Keepsafe 385,174; SPV 69,989; Calculator# 28,929) S5, Vaultaire as a newer encryption-focused vault with 52 ratings, Apple's built-in Hidden album, and Hushtrove.

App App Privacy label Account Encryption described Backup Originals and export Ads Price model (US) Free limits
Hushtrove (ours) Data Not Collected. None. AES-256-GCM, a key per file; passcode combined with a Secure Enclave secret. Optional, to your own iCloud, encrypted on the iPhone first. Full resolution, never downscaled; view, export and delete anytime, with or without Pro. None. One-time purchase or subscription; prices in the app. 100 photos, 10 videos; documents, notes and albums uncapped.
Keepsafe Tracking: Usage Data. Not linked: Usage Data. S2 Yes: name and verified email. S6 "256-bit AES". S7 Keepsafe's cloud: 200 items free, 10,000 Premium; end-to-end not stated. S7 Exports "returned to their original state"; Space Saver compresses on the phone (Premium). S7 S2 Yes, in Basic. S2 $9.99 a month or $23.99 a year; Lifetime offered. S2 S8 200 photos. S9
Private Photo Vault Tracking: Usage Data. Linked: Purchases, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics. S3 Not for the on-device vault; yes for Cloud Vault. S10 S11 "AES encryption"; AES-256 for Cloud Vault. S10 Cloud Vault (Premium), "zero-knowledge"; none in the free version. S11 S3 Import and export with Photos; recompression not stated. S3 Yes, in the free version. S12 Purchases from $6.99 to $39.99. S3 Not stated.
Vaultaire Linked: Contact Info, User Content. Not linked: Usage Data, Diagnostics. S1 "No account is required." S1 "AES-256-GCM". S1 To your iCloud, on by default, encrypted on the device. S1 Default "Optimized" converts to HEIC or HEVC; Original is a setting. S13 "No ads". S1 Weekly, annual (7-day trial) or lifetime; family lifetime $99.99. S1 3 vaults, 100 photos, 10 videos. S1
Calculator# Tracking: Contact Info. Not linked: Contact Info, User Content. S14 Email registration for password recovery. S14 Not stated. S14 iCloud, Dropbox, Google Drive or OneDrive; encryption not stated. S14 Not stated. "free with ads and limitations". S14 $4.99 a year; $4.99 features pack. S14 "limitations", not detailed. S14
SPV Tracking: Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics. Not linked: the same. S15 Not stated. Not stated; "PIN protection". S15 None: no server; deleting the app deletes the data. S15 Export to the photo gallery. S15 Third-Party Advertising is a purpose on its label. S15 Weekly, monthly or yearly, from $2.99. S15 Not stated.
Apple Hidden album For the whole Photos app: Linked: Contacts, User Content, Identifiers. Not linked: Location, Usage Data, Diagnostics, Other Data. S16 No; iCloud Photos is optional. Not stated for the album; iCloud Photos is end-to-end encrypted only with Advanced Data Protection. S17 S18 With iCloud Photos, hidden on all your devices. S17 Unchanged; it's your photo library. None. Free, part of iOS. None.

Which one fits you

Before you move anything in

Questions

Which photo vault app doesn't collect data?

Of the apps compared here on 2026-10-28, only Hushtrove has an App Privacy label of Data Not Collected. Labels are declared by developers and can change, so check the App Store page before you install.

Do I need an account for a photo vault app?

Not always. Hushtrove and Vaultaire need no account, Private Photo Vault needs one only for its Cloud Vault backup, and Keepsafe asks for a name and verified email.

Is Apple's Hidden album enough?

It keeps photos out of your Library and albums and is locked with Face ID by default, but it opens with your iPhone passcode and, with iCloud Photos, stays in your iCloud library. If someone else knows your passcode, a vault with its own passcode is more private.

Which photo vault apps keep original quality?

Hushtrove keeps photos at full resolution, in their original format, and doesn't re-encode videos. Vaultaire's default Optimized setting converts to HEIC or HEVC, with Original available as a setting. The other apps' pages don't state how they store originals.

Related guides

Sources

All read on . "Not stated" means we didn't find it in these sources, not that a feature is missing.

  1. Photo Vault - Vaultaire, US App Store page (App Privacy section, In-App Purchases, description; version 1.1.2). apps.apple.com/us/app/id6758529311
  2. Secret Photo Vault: Keepsafe, US App Store page (App Privacy section, In-App Purchases, description; version 13.35.0). apps.apple.com/us/app/id510873505
  3. Private Photo Vault - Pic Safe, US App Store page (App Privacy section, In-App Purchases, description; version 25.8). apps.apple.com/us/app/id417571834
  4. Apple Support, "Delete or hide photos and videos on iPhone", iPhone User Guide (iOS 27; the iOS 26 version reads the same). support.apple.com/en-us/guide/iphone/iphb4defbde9/ios
  5. Apple iTunes Lookup API, US storefront (rating counts). itunes.apple.com/lookup?id=510873505,417571834,6758529311,1165276801,1449239240&country=us
  6. Keepsafe help center, "Keepsafe Login: How to Access the Photo Vault". support.getkeepsafe.com/hc/en-us/articles/360039059152
  7. Keepsafe help center, "How does Keepsafe protect my data?". support.getkeepsafe.com/hc/en-us/articles/360035454311
  8. Keepsafe help center, "Keepsafe Subscriptions". support.getkeepsafe.com/hc/en-us/articles/360039059532
  9. Keepsafe products page. www.getkeepsafe.com/products/
  10. Private Photo Vault, "How your private photos are protected" (last updated September 22, 2026). privatephotovault.com/security/
  11. Private Photo Vault, "Cloud Vault" (last updated September 22, 2026). privatephotovault.com/cloud-vault-encrypted-backups/
  12. Private Photo Vault, FAQ. privatephotovault.com/faq/
  13. Vaultaire, "Best photo vault apps for iPhone" guide (modified September 7, 2026), import quality answer. vaultaire.app/guides/best-photo-vault-apps-iphone/
  14. Calculator# Hide Photos Videos, US App Store page (App Privacy section, In-App Purchases, description; version 3.4.12). apps.apple.com/us/app/id1165276801
  15. SPV - Secret Photo Vault, US App Store page (App Privacy section, In-App Purchases, description; version 7.6.1). apps.apple.com/us/app/id1449239240
  16. Photos by Apple, US App Store page (App Privacy section). apps.apple.com/us/app/id1584215428
  17. Apple Support, "Hide photos on your iPhone, iPad, Mac, or Apple Vision Pro with the Hidden album" (published March 16, 2026). support.apple.com/en-us/104987
  18. Apple Support, "iCloud data security overview". support.apple.com/en-us/102651

Apple, iPhone, Face ID, iCloud and other product names are trademarks of their owners, named here only to identify their products. Spotted a mistake? Email support@hushtrove.com and we'll correct it.